Meeting Code: 

The organising committee of this small, informal conference invites submissions of high quality theoretical or empirical research papers on financial intermediation.


To respond, please visit: https://portal.cepr.org/12th-swiss-winter-conference-financial-intermediation and indicate if you wish to present a paper. If you have any difficulties registering for this meeting, please contact the CEPR Events team at [email protected] for assistance (with subject header "5705 - Swiss Winter Conference 2019"). The deadline for replies is 6pm (GMT), Tuesday 16 October 2018. Authors will be notified about the acceptance of papers and the conference program by November 25, 2018. There is no conference fee and there are no accommodation costs for the invited presenters, discussants and chairs, but all participants must cover their own travel costs.


The conference will be held at the Hotel Schweizerhof in the mountain resort of Lenzerheide, Switzerland (https://www.schweizerhof-lenzerheide.ch/en/). The academic programme starts Monday morning (April 1) at 08:00 and ends Wednesday (April 3) before noon. Due to capacity constraints, preference will be given to participants who can stay for the whole duration of the conference. Participants should plan to arrive Sunday afternoon (March 31) and leave Wednesday afternoon (April 3). There will be around thirteen papers and discussions (including one session covered by the BIS and possibly one session for advanced PhD students), and there will also be poster sessions featuring around sixteen posters. However ample time for discussion, reflection and outdoor activities will be left for sure.

Accommodation costs and meals during the conference will be sponsored by the Bank for International Settlements, the Swiss Finance Institute and the Universities of St Gallen and Zurich.

A Special Issue on Contemporary Banking Research of Economic Inquiry (a journal of the Western Economic Association International), edited by Steven Ongena (University of Zurich, SFI, KU Leuven & CEPR) and Wesley W. Wilson (University of Oregon), will solicit papers and posters accepted at the conference. Details will be provided during the conference.


Christoph Basten (University of Zurich & CESifo), Thorsten Beck (Cass Business School & CEPR). Tobias Berg (Frankfurt School of Finance and Management & IWH), Martin Brown (University of St. Gallen), Elena Carletti (Bocconi University & CEPR), Jean Edouard Colliard (HEC Paris), Ralph De Haas (EBRD & Tilburg University), Hans Degryse (KU Leuven, IWH & CEPR), Manthos Delis (Montpellier Business School), Andrew Ellul (Indiana University & CEPR), Rüdiger Fahlenbrach (EPFL, SFI & ECGI), Leonardo Gambacorta (BIS & CEPR), Thomas Gehrig (University of Vienna & CEPR), Reint Gropp (IWH & CEPR), Vasso Ioannidou (Lancaster University & CEPR), Charles Kahn (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign), David Martinez-Miera (Carlos III & CEPR), Steven Ongena (University of Zurich, SFI, KU Leuven & CEPR), Evren Örs (HEC Paris). Alexander Popov (ECB), Sascha Steffen (Frankfurt School of Finance and Management), Greg Udell (Indiana University), Neeltje van Horen (Bank of England & CEPR), Wolf Wagner (Erasmus University Rotterdam & CEPR)


Christoph Basten (University of Zurich & CESifo), Martin Brown (University of St. Gallen), Leonardo Gambacorta (BIS & CEPR), Steven Ongena (University of Zurich, SFI, KU Leuven & CEPR)


Arnoud Boot (University of Amsterdam & CEPR), Francois Degeorge (University of Lugano & SFI)
Hans Degryse (KU Leuven & CEPR), Hans Gersbach (ETH Zurich & CEPR), Jan Pieter Krahnen (Frankfurt University & CEPR)

Meeting Date: 
Sunday, March 31, 2019 to Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Programme Areas:

Meeting Venue: